What Is Compassion?

Photo by Patricia R. Blumhagen

Photo by Patricia R. Blumhagen

The Macmillan Dictionary defines compassion as: sympathy for another’s suffering or misfortune combined with a desire to help.

I like to define compassion as:

“Recognizing that the other person is me”

I feel it is these learned beliefs and expectation, along with the fear of rejection that we find it difficult to share feelings of sympathy to lend a helping hand and accept others where they are.

I have found instead of sympathy and tenderness, there is non-acceptance and cruel behavior that births feelings of fear, separation and rejection.

Changing the fear and non-acceptance into compassion must begin with me. Restoring the true self begins with inner acceptance and forgiveness of others and myself.  Finding new ways to reach out in love and non-judgement, putting myself in their place and feeling what it is like to be in their shoes.

The journey to define compassion begins with me. It is vital to become aware of the root cause of why I react instead of interact. This self-examination is necessary to transform the feelings of sympathy to the heart for another. Paying attention that the other person is a reflection of you. Next, consider the why or what you are feeling towards that person. Then, ask yourself, if these feelings are rooted in rejections or fear of not being accepted?

You decide!

“TO THY OWN SELF BE TRUE”

Examining those hidden feelings brings forth freedom and compassion for oneself and others.

Photo by Patricia R. Blumhagen Pink Quartz

Photo by Patricia R. Blumhagen
Pink Quartz

Some things to consider for defining compassion:

  • What does compassion mean to you?
  • Do you find compassion a difficult experience to understand.
  • Have you considered that we are all part of each other?
  • Do you put yourself in another person’s place and feel what it is like to walk in their shoes?
  • Do you judge others by your learned beliefs and expectations of what they should be or do?

Please, share your comments:

http://reinventinghealthpublishing.com

http://www.reinventinghealthpublishing.com

About patricia720

Interfaith Minister, spiritual coach, nutritional counseling, Indie author of: Winter's Mystery-Time To Go Within:Spiritual Journeying. I enjoy gardening, writing, reading, cooking and nature. My passion is to encourage and empower others to release, rebirth, reclaim their authentic self. I live in the beautiful Berkshire, MA and enjoy the four seasons. I like to sit on my porch and view the sunrise and sunset. Walking in the early morning and listening to the birds songs is a gift I give to myself. I am a searcher and dreamer and love learning.
This entry was posted in Thoughts of the Author and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

