Why Read Poetry?

Winter's Epilogue

Photo by Patricia R. Blumhagen

Why Read Poetry?

Do you find that when you read poetry your cares seem to melt away? For me I get lost in the words and find myself giving names to the feelings that bubble up and demand attention.

Research reveals that reading poetry enhances the body’s response to chronic psychological stress in a positive way. It seems that the “words” release the body’s relaxation response and thereby produce a sense of calm that offers healing.

It all depends upon the poem, the rhythm and feelings it portrays to the individual doing the reading. The words might touch some deep buried feeling and become the catalyst that released the pertinent psychological memory. Reading poetry can be just for pleasure or connect to another person or find meaning.

When I am reading a poem or composing one I have no agenda. I just enjoy the flow and notice what touches me. The words just trigger some memory, pain, joy, loss or comfort. Could that be the gift and means to touch our inner connection with all?

It is a wonderful gift to be able to see the soul of the individual poet when they reveal through the words and shared their inner most emotions to the reader. What a privilege to experience the many different ways the poet grabs you with words to continue to read their poetry. Here a relationship has been born the poet and you dancing in and out with the movements of the soul.

Just to read and become aware of others expressing their feelings or offering insight into the ills of humanity. This wake-up call is food for my soul.

Reading poetry for me is like a meditation, not in the religious sense more, in the spiritual sense: understanding the purpose and meaning of my being human. I go to poetry to transport myself into a broader consciousness of Oneness with all. I am carried within myself to a place of deep truth and here I listen to my own Wisdom and empower my Authentic Self.

Why Poetry? Because it is the life force of a society. Poetry conveys insights into the deeper meaning of our lives. It makes sense out of the non-sense. It is a way to touch those buried emotions, freeing us from them. Moreover, connecting with the poet’s pain, loss, and joy is uniting with our humanity and bringing more awareness to our lives.

What could be more important?

 

 

About patricia720

Interfaith Minister, spiritual coach, nutritional counseling, Indie author of: Winter's Mystery-Time To Go Within:Spiritual Journeying. I enjoy gardening, writing, reading, cooking and nature. My passion is to encourage and empower others to release, rebirth, reclaim their authentic self. I live in the beautiful Berkshire, MA and enjoy the four seasons. I like to sit on my porch and view the sunrise and sunset. Walking in the early morning and listening to the birds songs is a gift I give to myself. I am a searcher and dreamer and love learning.
This entry was posted in Thoughts of the Author and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

